The cool between-whiles

“Shall I tell you?” she said, looking into his face. “Shall I tell you what you have that other men don’t have, and that will make the future? Shall I tell you?”

“Tell me then,” he replied.

“It’s the courage of your own tenderness, that’s what it is: like when you put your hand on my tail and say I’ve got a pretty tail.”

“The grin came flickering on his face.

“That!” he said.

Been reading Lady Chatterley’s Lover, and thinking a lot about courage and tenderness. In the day to day, love can be hard to practice when you are alone. It all seems vague and it’s so easy to get distracted. But tenderness and courage,they seem a bit more at earth-and-hands level. If I could just learn those two things. I think it would all be alright.

December 5, 2010. Tags: , , , . books.

One Comment

  1. S replied:

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

