You didn’t get to heaven (but you made it close)

Pierre Reverdy’s dedication of Main d’oeuvre for Gabrielle Chanel in 1949: 

There, Coco most dear
Is the best I have made
Of myself
With my hand.
Ill- or well-made
I give it to you
With my heart
With my hand
Before going to see
On the darkest path
Whether they damn
Or forgive
And you know I love you.

(Harder to post this time of year and using the shared family computer. End-of-year salutations to all… xo)

December 29, 2009. Tags: , , . Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Bobby Stills replied:

    Lovely.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

