The Kids Are Not Alright, Pt III

Wasted Youth by James Hopkins

Wasted Youth by James Hopkins (via Today & Tomorrow)

So I’m sitting at the bus stop, minding my own business, reading The Wit and Humor of Oscar Wilde, and thinking its kind of sad that they had to rename it that after its original title, Epigrams of Oscar Wilde was phased out in 1959.

This kid sits next to me, about 11, braces, freckles, etc; and he’s sitting a respectable distance away so I don’t really pay much attention until he says “Excuse me”.  It’s funny that he bothered with that little piece of politeness, because next moment he had scooted over until he was right next to me, leaning his head in towards mine and pulling out his phone to take a couple-style photo with one-hand and a loud fake CHA-CHIING! I had less than a second to react, and faced with all these conflicty anger-shock-confused emotions sort of automatically ended up pulling a lame peace sign.

Straight after, he ran away to his squealing friends, and I was left to awkwardly pretend nothing had happened. Why do they always love me and leave me?  Why are they never old enough to drive? What if those photos make it on to  Facebook (or more likely Bebo) and are seen by my employer (or the police)?

(I suppose this is what I get for bemoaning the lack of  “boys” in my life, huh K? From now on it’s “guys” all the way, promise.)

November 1, 2009. Tags: , , , , , . boys, life is strange.

2 Comments

  1. Horace Pinkers replied:

    Nobody bothers me when I’m out amongst the public. Not a word. Closest to contact I get is ‘do you have a lighter’

    What is it with you.

  2. swingsandskateboards replied:

    I think in this instance it was maybe because I was wearing these boots? They ARE kind of amazing.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

