From This Moment

Once, when I was around 13, I remember talking with my parents about fear, and saying the thing I was most afraid of was time.  And they kind of thought I was being ridiculous – fair call, given that sharks exist – but I wasn’t just being a pretentious emo kid.   Because I read.  I read J. M. Barrie’s Peter Pan and the last chapter broke my heart, because he forgets Wendy, and when he remembers she has grown up and he doesn’t want her anymore.  I just read that part again, here, and it hit me just the same.  And every time each of the children learnt they had gotten too old for Narnia.

You can’t go back.

And it’s so weird that the past is absolutely nothing but what we remember of it. Once we forget, it may as well not have happened.  We can pull the moments together and turn it into a story, but it’s not the real story.

Anyway.  This video asks, what is a moment?  It’s vivid and human and resonant, and the soundtrack is beautiful.  Reminds me that I want to fit more moments into life.


(Video directed by Will Hoffman,  presented by Radi0lab.)

(you guys I am still so scared of getting old)

August 23, 2009. Tags: , , , . life is strange, writing.

5 Comments

  1. The Never Fairy replied:

    You can follow Peter Pan, again…
    There’s a novel out that’s based on Barrie’s own ideas for more adventure. Just click my name!

    BELIEVE!

  2. swingsandskateboards replied:

    Oh thanks for that, interesting!

  3. Keegan replied:

    I’m completely the opposite. I want to be old. I hate the past and seldom think about it.

  4. swingsandskateboards replied:

    Yin + Yan strikes again! That’s so funny. I spend so much time going over and over the past in my head so I don’t forget anything. It’s… not that useful.

    I’ll swap ya 7 years each way?

  5. Keegan replied:

    Yeah I know. You’re a past-junky alright. That’s all fine and good, it’s just…it makes no sense to agonise over the unalterable. But hey, that’s just me. Different strokes right.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

