So Over Irony

I really want to like Mega Shark Vs Giant Octopus, but it’s so self-consciously trying to be so-bad-it’s-good that I fear I will never  be won over.  It’s no Anaconda, you guys.  I love the last shot of the trailer, but if noone in the film is taking it seriously, (aka how J. Lo. BRUNG IT to the aforesaid snake movie), I don’t see any reason why I should laugh.

On the other hand, 2012 is going to be the best thing since ever.  When I watched The Day After Tomorrow , I was tottally gutted that the devastation seemed so minor at the end.  I wanted full on On The Beach levels of angst and annihilation.  And now it looks like I’ll be getting it.  This is serious stuff!

July 26, 2009. Tags: , , , . movies.

3 Comments

  1. Keegan replied:

    Because it’s a MEGASHARK…that’s why you should be laughing. Crazy girl. Try ‘Alligator’ for a classic creature feature. The shots where a baby alligator is placed in a set of miniatures to wreak gigantic havoc is awesome in so many ways. Still, I’m impressed beyond words that you gave ‘Mega Shark Vs. Giant Octopus’ an honest go. You earn much points.

  2. swingsandskateboards replied:

    Heh. I just would like it more if I got the sense those involved had an earnest blindness to the schlock. Not much of a spoof girl!

  3. Keegan replied:

    Ok, fair call. Even though I’m sure your appetite for shitty films is limited, I feel I have to recommend ‘Frankenfish’ and ‘Razortooth’. Both are hilariously bad in an ‘Anaconda’ way. Maybe try next time you’re bored beyod your wildest dreams and need a laugh.

    “You look pretty for a girl covered in giant fish brains.”

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

