Leftovers

The other night, I walked into a restaurant and realised as soon as I was seated that it was a Poor Choice. The menu featured all the food genres – stirfries, pizza, pasta, Americana – I was fooled by the French name on the door. So I chose a cheap, standard option to minimise my losses (burger) and came home all dissatisfied. And then I wrote a post for A Cat On The Wall all about how to avoid such situations and have AWESOME solo dining experiences. It made me feel better and you can read it here.

The Fabulous Minetta Tavern

The Fabulous Minetta Tavern

As a side note, the pictures in that post which I am stealing to use again here, are of my favourite restaurant in NYC, The Minetta Tavern and it’s notoriously decadent Black Label Burger. (If you are really into burgers you can even read this article about how perfectly it is made.)

Minetta's $26 Black Label Burger

Minetta's $26 Black Label Burger

July 21, 2009. Tags: , , , . food.

3 Comments

  1. Keegan replied:

    THAT’S a perfectly made hamburger. For $26. American. I’m appalled, it looks like roadkill between bread. Which is fine, I’ll eat roadkill, as long as it’s priced for what it is. Free or next to nothing. I demand you firebomb this tavern immediately. Take pictures so I’ll know.

  2. swingsandskateboards replied:

    I know, it’s kind of obscene. But you’re also paying for the pleasure of being surrounded by beautiful rich people and having charming service. There is another burger there which is almost exactly the same, but they use less fancy meat for only $16. That one comes with cheese too, the Black Label one is too rich for cheese. I think I will go back there tonight…

  3. Keegan replied:

    Well, I’m going to make soup. It cost maybe $2 to make 4 litres. And I have the pleasure of my own company. Each to their own. Let it roll baby roll.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

