And… We’re Back

I went to Toys-R-Us in Times Square today.   Like everything else in that part of the city, it was a total sensory overload and I had to leave after five minutes before I went into a coma.

Just in case you forget you're in NY

Just in case you forget you're in NY - Lego versions of the Stat of Lib & Empire State Building

It did remind me of the awesomeness of Lego though.  When I was a kid, my brothers used to have epic Lego battles between their teams of cowboys and astronauts.  I played with them of course… running a bipartisan hospital where their troups could recover once injured.  Stereotypical gender roles, yay!?

In a slightly different context, Jan Vormann’s Dispatchment project uses Lego to fill holes in walls, recently in Berlin – where most of the plugging was into gaps made from bullets in WWII.

Jan Vormann Dispatchment Berlin

via todayand tomorrow

It’s a versatile brick.

May 24, 2009. Tags: , , , . art.

6 Comments

  1. cephalic replied:

    new york. you lucky lucky thing. have a ball

  2. swingsandskateboards replied:

    Don’t you worry I am well aware how lucky I am! And making the most of it…

  3. Zoe replied:

    Oh man, I can’t believe you’re over there already. It’s all happened so quickly. And living the high life obviously at Toys R Us! I am insanely jealous. How is it all going?

  4. swingsandskateboards replied:

    I know! It feels like I’ve been here forever now, actually, instead of two and a half weeks. It’s going great, thanks. Much less like the skyscrapery concrete jungle I imagined (thank goodness), my neighbourhood is all old brick and tiny parks and ridiculously dressed people. I saw Willem Dafoe yesterday!

  5. Michelle Mabey replied:

    and i thought c1 was being original… i can always count on you to enlighten me :)

  6. swingsandskateboards replied:

    Huh, c1? What-what-what now??

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

